Some basic kit (my wide-angle lens)

I’d like to talk about lenses right now.  One lens that just about every photographer I know has in his kit is the Sigma 10mm-20mm wide angle zoom.  There are two models: an F/4-5.6 and an F/3.5.  The first is quite affordable and makes a great go-to lens for indoor shots with an APS-C type camera.  I have one and love it.

Image

People often ask me what kind of  telephoto zoom they should get.  Everyone seems to want to shoot things that are far away.  I always tell them to start with a good wide-angle lens.  Most people will take family and vacation shots and never seem to be able to squeeze everything in.  This lens will do the trick.

There’s a great review of this lens at: http://www.dpreview.com/lensreviews/sigma_10-20_4-5p6_n15

Happy shooting!

3 thoughts on “Some basic kit (my wide-angle lens)

Leave a Reply

