How do you shoot? A self-analysis.

I’ve tried to consciously make a note of what I like to shoot and how I shoot it while on vacation. Why am I doing this? I want to see if I shoot more in the 24-70mm range or in the 24-100mm range.

I’ve been very tempted by the Sony RX100Mk3. But, compared to its predecessor, it has less focal range. Is the new lens worth it? Only way to know is by judging where I do most of my shooting.

On a recent trip, I took my handy DSC-HX30V. Did I zoom in or did I like to take wide angle shots? Well, I discovered that I prefer shooting wide. It is harder to find space to shoot a large building than it is to walk up to it and shoot some detail. Hmmm. I also discovered that I might want to shoot background shots and skies for composites. Here again, I don’t really need the extra reach.

This makes the decision to look at the Mk3 over the Mk1 or 2 easier,…, but more expensive. Nuts. Now I’m going to have to start saving my money…

Happy shooting!

Leave a Reply

