First days with the MacBook 12″ retina

So far, so good.

I’ve installed Lightroom and Photoshop, as well as PTGui Pro and Aurora HDR Pro.  Everything seems to be running smoothly.  I was mostly concerned with the performance of Lightroom on a Core M3 processor but I have to complaints so far.  Performance is good. The keyboard takes some getting used to, though.  Short travel keys for a touch typist is a bit of a challenge.  I’ll let you know if I get used to it.

I’ve tested a workflow with Lightroom (although I don’t know if it’s the most efficient; let me know) where I do my mobile importing and editing on the MacBook and then export as a catalog what I’ve shot and retouched.  I transfer everything to my NAS, and then import on my main Mac running Lightroom.  Thank goodness Adobe allows us to install our licensed programs on two machines.

Now I have an ultra portable kit for taking pictures.  My RX100 III (which I love more and more), my Sirui travel tripod and the MacBook.  All in a Tamrac Rally 5 bag.  I can walk about all day with that.  I can fulfill my fantasy of going for a walk in the city, shoot what inspires me and then stop off in a coffee shop and sip a latte while editing my favourite pictures.

Now that is happy shooting!

Leave a Reply

