A 42Mp sensor brings out all the flaws of glass!

I’ve raved about the Rokinon 85mm f/1.4 lens that I purchased for a song a little while ago.  I’d been using it with my Sony A77ii and was quite pleased with the results.  I decided to try it on my new A99ii.

Oh my.

What a difference the 42 megapixels does!  Suddenly, I was discovering green and purple fringing that was all but invisible on the 24Mp APS-C sensor.  It’s still a great lens, mind you.  It’s cheap and does a good job for portraits.  But now I have to make corrections if I crop my pictures.

It just confirms that I have a real beast in my hands with the A99ii.  It’s a fantastic camera.  But, you have to put the right glass on it with adequate resolving power to get the best results.

It’s been a fun discovery, and it’s pushing my photography to new heights.  I hope everyone can have just as much fun.

Cheers,

Michael

Leave a comment